WASTE NOT, WANT NOT

My husband and I grew up in an area that was deeply affected by the Great Depression and the Dust Bowl.  The generation or two following, passed down a thrifty, do it yourself attitude.  If we are able to rebuild something around here, we do it.  IMG_20170127_172953240_HDR

I use this little tractor and a disk to “work the trees.”  That just means killing weeds in between the rows of newly planted trees to conserve water and keep them looking good.  However, this is getting to be a bigger job all the time, due to someones’  OCD tree planting habit.  No need to name names.

20161104_104430

On a corner of one of the fields that we farm,  was a cultivator that a former tenant had abandoned.    It’s the greenish thingy in the grass.

Late last fall, my husband loaded it up and brought it home.

The guys took it down in size and added blades from another implement.

IMG_20170415_155629952

Here is a test run.  So much faster!  In our throw away world I admire someone who has a vision and is able to recycle and re use.  Thank you boys!  (I refuse to completely quit using the little tractor and disk though.  It just will have a smaller job, taking care of those – Hard to Reach areas. )

8 thoughts on “WASTE NOT, WANT NOT

  1. Kim Gorman April 28, 2017 / 12:56 pm

    I agree that there is something very satisfying about restoring things rather than throwing out and replacing. We have a kitchen project going on now and I am trying desperately to save the old hardwood floors we found under multiple layers of linoleum and vinyl and subfooring, but so far no hardwood guys will take on the project.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Almost Iowa April 28, 2017 / 1:45 pm

    Love that little tractor.

    Given the price of implements, who can afford new?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dayphoto April 28, 2017 / 10:22 pm

    Now you have another implement! It makes work so much easier!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ricelandmeadows May 3, 2017 / 2:18 am

    Thank goodness for people using what has been abandoned. My wife recycled me. I was left to flounder alone. She picked me up, dusted me off, mended my broken heart and made my world wonderful. I love her more than life! We celebrate 25 years of wedded bliss this August!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Donkey Driver May 9, 2017 / 8:16 pm

      I think this is such a sweet thing to say. I hope you showed it to your wife. Our anniversary is August 15. 932 years.) A good month!

      Like

Leave a Reply

