INSIDE OUT

image

Fall in  this area brings much talk of harvest.  Even non farmers will often ask about the progress.  We talked to a man recently who had just had his very first experience near and in a combine.   We sometimes forget how foreign our lives are to other people.  Just for fun, I am giving you a very brief tour of one of our combines.  This is the one  I usually drive.

imageThis is the view out my window.  I love it!  You can see the row head at work.  (It has all the pointy things. 😊)

There is actually quite a lot to keep track of.  I need to watch the moisture of the grain, -too wet and we can’t cut. I watch the yield, because more bushels means more money to pay off loans!  Then there are the graphs that show you the speed, and other inner workings of the machine. Care is needed because combines are finicky!   I won’t bore you with the details.

image

When the combine is full, a beep will sound, telling the driver to unload onto the graincart, which then takes the grain to the trucks.  Anyone who knows combine drivers can tell you that they like to push the limits on how full they can get the combine.  Not me, of course.

image

Oops!  I almost forgot to show you the most important feature.  The buddy seat where my lunch box goes!  I hope you get the chance to take a ride and experience one of these machines for yourself someday.  They truly are amazing and harvest is a crazy, wonderful time.

image

 

12 thoughts on “INSIDE OUT

  1. Almost Iowa October 27, 2016 / 1:09 pm

    We had a 3″ rain the night before last so I am getting a little time off from running the scale house. One of these days, they might trust me to drive a grain cart but never a combine. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Donkey Driver October 28, 2016 / 12:49 am

      Ah…the under appreciated Grain Cart Driver. I find the Grain Cart more tiring than the combine. Some crews only allow their very best “man” on the cart, because that’s who is responsible for keeping things running smoothly. So kudos to you, when they let you run it!! 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Doug Lafuze October 27, 2016 / 1:26 pm

    I was always at my happiest in a combine, especially when I had my own. Harvest is what I miss the most. Loved the pictures. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

      • Doug Lafuze October 28, 2016 / 12:52 am

        Most definitely it can. And it stays there for long after you leave the life!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Ann Coleman October 27, 2016 / 6:05 pm

    I’ve never gotten to ride in a combine, but would love to some day! I always loved seeing them in the fields at harvest time…

    Like

    • Donkey Driver October 28, 2016 / 12:51 am

      I hope you get the chance sometime. It’s a pretty picture to see a field being harvested. Thanks Ann! 😊

      Like

  4. Kim Gorman October 29, 2016 / 1:09 am

    Looks very cool! And fun to drive. My father-in-law ran heavy equipment (mostly bulldozers and such) until he was in his mid-70s, but for sure he never operated one of these. Such fun to get a glimpse into your everyday life.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. ricelandmeadows October 30, 2016 / 11:33 pm

    I had no idea that milo would be harvested with what looks to me like a corn head. I will start picking my corn this week. It’s just a small field of about three acres. I will pick by hand. Its a job that I enjoy. The horses pull my wagon as I go along, moving by voice when I ask them to go ahead a little. Let’s just say I go much slower than you all do! LOL

    Liked by 2 people

    • Donkey Driver November 2, 2016 / 1:12 am

      There are a few people that use a draper to cut Milo, but it isn’t near as efficient. I’m torn between your ways and ours. I find the big machinery so exciting and I wish I could have shown my Dad. On the other hand, I think of my Dad when I see you farming with your horses. I heard so many stories of the old days. Wishing you a great harvest!

      Like

Leave a Reply

