GET LOST RUMPLESTILTSKIN……

….I want my straw!   We don’t bale our wheat stubble after harvest.  We feel that keeping the organic matter on our soil is more important.  However, various neighbors sometimes bale straw.  I’ve never had all the straw that I wanted, so this year I splurged a little.  Look at that stuff…it makes me feel giddy.

image
Score!

Most of my bigger animals live out of doors, with windbreaks.  In fact, the time or two that I’ve tried to put the horses in the barn,  they wanted NONE OF IT!  I do have the smaller critters in shelters and put others in the barn when we have a blizzard.  Then, it’s wonderful to give them good clean straw to lay in.

I love straw for my chicken nests and for the floor.  It makes everything cleaner.  The picture of the Duke is just a bonus for you.

image

It’s a golden treasure.

Schmoops loves it too!

6 thoughts on “GET LOST RUMPLESTILTSKIN……

  1. Kim Gorman September 24, 2016 / 2:52 am

    Your world looks so abundant! My husband and I love John Wayne. One thing we have in common is we love watching John Wayne movies.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Donkey Driver September 27, 2016 / 1:42 am

      I think the John Wayne picture in the chicken house makes my hens feel secure. I love John Wayne movies also. I want to watch The Searchers next time we get a movie night.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. dayphoto September 24, 2016 / 9:32 pm

    I’m with you…nothing like straw for the animals. And we think like you…all that stubble goes back into the soil to make the soil better.

    Linda

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

