GREAT GOLLY! WE GOT GRAVEL!

We are always happy for moisture, but along with it, comes ruts.

image
Vile Ruts!

While country life may seem peaceful and serene, there is a lot of work involved.   We are responsible for everything: maintenance, water, sewer, and even roadwork.

image

So it’s an exciting day when we are finally fed up with the potholes and ruts and ready to spend some money on gravel.

image

I’m always looking for a smallish bit for my pathways in the yard also…..

image

It’s Gold Baby!  Pure Gold!

image

Now doesn’t that look nice?

23 thoughts on “GREAT GOLLY! WE GOT GRAVEL!

  1. dayphoto August 10, 2016 / 8:29 pm

    You are SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO right! It is gold! And costs like silver!

    Linda

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kim Gorman August 11, 2016 / 2:14 am

    Who is that beautiful black dog? One thing I love about your blog is that your life is so completely opposite of my own. I love learning about what farming is like in what I am assuming in the Midwest U.S. So different from my own life.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Donkey Driver August 11, 2016 / 2:40 am

      That is my dog Sara. She loves me so much! Lol! We farm in the central plains. I so appreciate your open mind Kim. What I want to show people, is that although we are maybe bigger farmers than some- We are still a family -We love our farm – We love our land with a passion – We choose to be here – We try so hard to to do the very best for the environment, after all, we live here! Please keep reading Kim, and I do hope you enjoy as you learn. 😀

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Ann Coleman August 11, 2016 / 2:52 am

    It’s all about perspective, isn’t it? Most people don’t think of gravel as much of a blessing, but those who live in the country certainly do!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. aHorseForElinor August 20, 2016 / 2:27 pm

    Yes! Looks fantastic. Always so exciting to get new gravel. I hope to put some in this fall again, although I lack your beautiful toys and will have to do a lot of manual labor. Well, it will take a while 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Donkey Driver August 21, 2016 / 2:14 am

      Ahhhh, the right equipment sure does make it easier…..but maybe the manual labor is why you look so pretty riding your horse! 😉

      Like

      • aHorseForElinor August 21, 2016 / 6:24 am

        😉 I chalk that up to long distance running, but thank you!
        My next gravel project is more of a backbreaking, wrinkle making type of ordeal 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Donkey Driver August 21, 2016 / 4:15 pm

        Oh bummer! If I was close, I would come help you.

        Like

      • aHorseForElinor August 21, 2016 / 4:43 pm

        Haha, love it! (The vision of you driving down the highway with a helpful tractor. For 3 days!)

        Like

Leave a Reply

