I SAY TOMATO

I love to grow my own tomato plants.  It’s hard to find plants that are bred for this area :  many plants won’t set in our heat and we need a shorter growing season than many places.   Plus, I love to grow tomatoes.

My sink and new potting soil……ah…..good stuff.  I always use new potting soil for tomatoes to help keep disease down.

20160404_101453

Look at those babies!  I used to start my tomatoes under my bed, then transfer them to the greenhouse.  I don’t do that anymore.  I’m more sophisticated now. (lazy)  My greenhouse isn’t heated, so I have to start them a bit later, usually March.  I use bubble wrap and tarps to protect them on the cold nights- unless it is extreme- we had one night in March at 8.9 degrees.  I moved them temporarily that night, thank goodness!

I transplant them when they are around two to three inches high, burying them just up to their leaves.  Tomatoes will root along their stems.  This makes for strong, sturdy plants.  I poke holes in the bottom of coffee cups and use them.  I am able to write on the cups with a maker to label them and it’s ok when nobody returns them.   I’m hoping for a bumper crop this year!

18 thoughts on “I SAY TOMATO

  1. fattymccupcakes April 13, 2016 / 2:51 pm

    WOW! I wish I were that committed to…anything, really. Way to go! I bet that is really satisfying to see your hard work rewarded 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dayphoto April 13, 2016 / 2:58 pm

    I have mine started also. It’s so much fun to grow our own plants, isn’t it? You get what you really want that way. I see you use fertilome are you pleased with it? I’ve been using Miracle Grow, but I’m willing to change.

    Linda

    Liked by 1 person

    • Donkey Driver April 14, 2016 / 1:55 am

      I would definitely recommend the fertilome for seed starting. It’s such good quality.

      Like

  3. Kim Gorman April 13, 2016 / 6:45 pm

    I love everything about growing tomatoes – the smell, the pretty green and red colors , popping grape tomatoes in my mouth at random. I don’t have a full blown garden anymore but I always plant a few tomato plants with my perennials by the patio. Thanks for the reminder that spring is here and soon we’ll get to plant them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Donkey Driver April 14, 2016 / 1:58 am

      I do that too! I love tomatoes right off the vine and warm from the sun. Thanks Kim!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. fittoservegroup April 14, 2016 / 12:54 pm

    So excited for my two little tomato plants to give fruit. Can’t image how thrilled you will be when your bumper crop comes in. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ann Coleman April 14, 2016 / 3:46 pm

    There is nothing better than a home-grown tomato. For a short while, I had good luck growing just two tomato plants in my back yard. But for the last three years, they’ve been attacked by white flies (which resist all my efforts to get rid of them) and the tomatoes are ruined. I’m not sure if I’ll even try this year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Donkey Driver April 15, 2016 / 1:04 am

      That’s so frustrating! We always have some kind of pestilence or disease, but I never stop! Every year, I’m just sure “this will be the year.” Lol!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. garym6059 April 14, 2016 / 6:19 pm

    I am looking forward to this, when I was married I used to grow 70-80 plants a year and then can them so I had fresh tomatoes in the winter.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Donkey Driver April 15, 2016 / 1:06 am

      That’s so cool! I absolutely love to can tomatoes. It seems like I end up neglecting my garden during wheat harvest and have to buy a box to can…..this year I will try harder!

      Liked by 1 person

      • garym6059 April 15, 2016 / 1:53 am

        Canning became quite the full time job with that many plants, I do miss the fresh salsa though!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Donkey Driver April 16, 2016 / 11:25 am

      I tend to get a bit carried away when I open thos seed packets……..I’m hoping to give some away. 😄

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

