GRATITUDE

The subject for the MJP Gratutude Challenge for today is my Father.

20160408_210432

I have a picture of John Wayne in my bedroom, but who doesn’t, right?   I became a fan of The Duke later in my life.  Growing up, he seemed to pail in comparison to my dad.  To all of us girls, our Dad was the ultimate : the best, toughest, smartest cowboy in the world.  He rode, roped, branded and rolled his own and all in real life, not on the screen.

IMG_0038

Setting here today, I won’t tell you that my Dad was the best father ever.  There were issues.  He was only human.  What I will tell you, is that the things he did right, he did very right.  He took us to church. He taught us that things aren’t what makes you content.  He taught us to laugh every day and gave us all a pretty quirky sense of humor.   And…..he believed  that his girls could do absolutely anything.  My father believed in me at a time when I had absolutely no belief in myself.

IMG_0039

Truly, I think kids need to know that their mother loves them….and they need to know that their father believes in them.  He did and I am grateful.

 

21 thoughts on “GRATITUDE

  1. Kim Gorman April 9, 2016 / 1:04 pm

    Fathers are so super important. I feel for kids that don’t have one around. My own father hasn’t been much of a presence in my life even though he’s around, but I made sure to marry a man who is an awesome Dad to our kids. Your Dad sounds great and I also love John Wayne!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Donkey Driver April 12, 2016 / 1:40 am

      My Dad died when I was 19. I don’t think we ever stop missing people that we lose.

      Liked by 1 person

      • dayphoto April 12, 2016 / 2:46 pm

        No we don’t ever! But sometimes I feel them with me…I felt Dad’s hand on my shoulder once, and I randomly see Momma in my face in the mirror. It all helps.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Donkey Driver April 12, 2016 / 1:42 am

      Thank you Ann. You are the one who got me thinking about him. When we talked about building the path on my post, I realized how much he had taught me. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Julie@frogpondfarm April 12, 2016 / 9:27 am

    What a beautiful post .. I miss my father he was an amazing man. But I am blessed with his green thumb!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Maria Jansson Photography April 13, 2016 / 12:16 am

    Reblogged this on Maria Jansson Photography and commented:
    Every Saturday I host a gratitude challenge. I share something that I am grateful for, and encourage you to do the same! This entry to MJP Gratitude Challenge last week, is definitely worth a reblog! It brought me to (happy) tears while reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kim Richardson April 13, 2016 / 1:06 am

    What a beautifully written tribute to your father! And really, to the importance of fathers everywhere. As someone who is close to her Dad, I thank you for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. missyjean April 14, 2016 / 9:31 pm

    Lovely post and reflects what he meant to you in life. I had a dear friend’s dad pass away after a very quick and aggressive cancer this week, so dads have been on my mind lately also. So many wonderful people in this world who influence us, and we can hope they know what they mean to us.

    Thank you for this!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Donkey Driver April 15, 2016 / 1:10 am

      Thank you! It’s good to think back about people. Thinking about my Dad keeps me focused on simple things: hot coffee, getting up early, talking…

      Like

Leave a Reply

