THE YELLOW BRICK ROAD.

Well not really, but I’m from Kansas…..(though I get totally sick and tired of references to Dorothy)

I have the best husband.  He tolerates my gardening obsession.  I try to keep a clean house, but it’s not spotless- my heart just isn’t always in it.  However, if there is something in the yard that bothers me…it’s gotta be fixed!   When I laid this path last spring, I knew it would have to be temporary.  I just couldn’t make it look the way I wanted it to.   I’ve started dismantling in these two shots….

Guess what the aforementioned great husband helped me acquire……..?

20160331_160334

Dibbles and I think a stack of pavers is a beautiful thing.

20160331_173836

The hard part is fitting the pieces together – I end up handling each rock several times.  It beats going to the gym!

20160404_200258

And I think it looks much better.  Thank you Dear for your support!

20160405_101633

Hmmmm….now I have a whole pile of the old pavers…..what will I do with them………………I think I have an idea……………

 

 

18 thoughts on “THE YELLOW BRICK ROAD.

  1. sarah1 April 5, 2016 / 11:42 pm

    The new path is beautiful! Congrats! I’m not too into my house cleaning either lol. I just try to keep up what I can. I wanted to let you know an update on my animals. Our chickens hatched 3 baby (silkie) chicks! We also bought 10 pullets and 3 ducklings, so our little farm is growing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Donkey Driver April 6, 2016 / 1:25 am

      Us Farm Girls don’t have time for housework, do we? Thank you for the update! I love it. There is nothing more exciting than new critters, right? Keep it up!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Donkey Driver April 7, 2016 / 12:24 pm

      I really am lucky, and I can even justify it somewhat. As our farmstead represents our business, we think it’s important to keep it looking nice……thanks Kim! 😊😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. dayphoto April 6, 2016 / 2:56 pm

    I don’t like housework much either. I do like yard and farm work though so (to me) its a nice trade off. Your path has turned out really nice!

    Linda

    Liked by 1 person

    • Donkey Driver April 7, 2016 / 12:12 pm

      Thank you. And I think you and I picked the right professions, didn’t we?

      Like

      • dayphoto April 7, 2016 / 4:15 pm

        Did you get my email I sent you?

        Like

      • dayphoto April 7, 2016 / 7:23 pm

        Oh…I wondered. Terry is very interested in learning more about no-till and getting some equipment to use on our pinto bean ground. We know you are much bigger farmers than us with bigger equipment and land, but he was wondering if sometime (next year) we could come visit (we will stay in town) to see how things are done and what type of equipment to use. Then the next step would be finding something to work for us, but we will take that step sometime down the road.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Donkey Driver April 7, 2016 / 7:37 pm

        I don’t know why that address didn’t work, but—-we would be thrilled to have you come!! Doug said he would be more than happy to help in any way he can. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • dayphoto April 7, 2016 / 10:00 pm

        Oh good! I’ll let Terry know. Where are you located? Maybe email would work best for communication from now on….here is mine coloradofarmlife@gmail.com

        Like

  3. Ann Coleman April 6, 2016 / 5:38 pm

    That path came out looking great! I’m kind of in awe of your ability to build that. Personally, I’m just the opposite: I pay more attention to the inside of my house than the outside, but perhaps that’s because I don’t have the confidence in my ability to create a nice garden and yard area. I think I ought to take some lessons from you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Donkey Driver April 7, 2016 / 12:19 pm

      Everyone has their comfort zones. I get a little down when I am inside too much. I think you can do everything I can, Ann. I just plow into a project and do it. If it doesn’t turn out, I redo it! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

