GRATITUDE

The subject for my MJP Photography Challenge today is :  Modern Conveniences.

I LOVE the modern age.   I really enjoy having machines do things for me.   Today my dishwasher quit.  I’m not blaming anyone…..(almostiowa.com)…..but I’m pretty broken up.

20160129_100009

How I love my LG Model LD5540St**%*.  I love the chime it makes when completing a load.   I always say “It sure sounds purty, Pa.”

It’s not as if I don’t know how to do a sink full of dishes manually……

I remember all too well, growing up on a ranch in the middle of nowhere.  No dishwasher.  No washer and dryer.  No telephone.  2 channels on the t.v..’a great way to raise kids’ you say.  Sure, as kids, we had a great life, but for my mother with a family of 10, plus extra to feed and care for, maybe not so much.

20160129_152354

So yes, I’m sad when something breaks down….

“Go away Doggie, I’m grieving..”

…But also so very thankful that I have so much.  How hard the women and men used to have to work (and still do in other countries) just to provide the basic comforts of life for their families.   I am so very thankful for my house full of Helpers.

 

4 thoughts on “GRATITUDE

  1. Ann Coleman January 31, 2016 / 4:35 pm

    Those photos are hilarious! Very funny post, and I share your love of all things convenient!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Holly'sMom February 2, 2016 / 3:23 am

    I once lived in a rental home that did contain a dishwasher that did not work. I had to hand wash dishes for a year! 😮 It’s okay! It’s okay! I made it through – somehow. Phew! 🙂 Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

