GRATITUDE

I almost didn’t use this post.  I take the MJP Gratitude Challenge seriously and this may seem silly to some -but this is something that I TRULY AM very grateful for.

IMG_2396
GLOVES!

 

I use gloves almost every day of my life.

IMG_2400
THE RANCH HANDS

My hands seem to be the tenderest part of me for some reason, despite working outside my entire life.

IMG_2397
THE GARDENERS

My fingers have been smashed, cut and broken……..I consider myself pretty tough, but I am a big baby if I get even a small wound on my hands,  so I try to protect them.

IMG_2401
THE HEAVIES

Especially in the cold,  I feel like my fingers are so brittle that they might just break off and fall to the ground.   (I hope this never happens because I am positive the dog will gobble them up.  I’m sorry, but I think about this quite often.)

IMG_2402
THE LONER……

I absolutely hate it when I  lose a favorite glove.  I can usually go to the store and find an identical pair.   Then I get to thinking about the pioneers who settled this part of the country, the  explorers and the homesteaders.   How did they manage to do what they did with so little?  I’m sure losing a glove to them, meant hardship and the danger of frostbite.

Look around you.  We are so extremely blessed with little everyday riches that weren’t possible a generation or two ago.  What would you start with if you had to pick one common, everyday object to be grateful for?

 

14 thoughts on “GRATITUDE

  1. Kim Gorman January 2, 2016 / 4:10 pm

    My drugstore reading glasses. I can’t see anything up close without them! Really enjoyed this post. It puts things into perspective.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Donkey Driver January 4, 2016 / 9:13 pm

      Thank you! How nice to hear that. 😊 and isn’t it amazing that we can just run to the store and buy reading glasses?

      Like

  2. BunKaryudo January 3, 2016 / 8:39 am

    I’m pretty grateful for gloves but really grateful for socks. I hate cold feet!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ann Coleman January 3, 2016 / 7:19 pm

    Great post! There are so many things we take for granted, but that we would miss dearly if we had to do without. I think my first choice would be running water. I never think about how often I turn on a tap during the day, until the water is shut off for one reason or another. And then I think about all the people who live in areas where they don’t have clean, running water, and I realize how very lucky I am!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Donkey Driver January 4, 2016 / 9:09 pm

      I definitely agree! Our little country church still has no running water, only an outhouse. It’s not so quaint on a cold winter morning.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

