THE POUTY POULTRY

Roger and the Girls are used to being free-range,” I’m the boss of this farmyard”, chickens.  When its wet or snowy however, I lock them in their pen to keep them from hanging out in my barn all day. (cause you know what chickens *doo when they roost.)  They are sometimes not too happy about this.

20151201_141357
We are not happy.

I decided that a pumpkin treat would cheer them up.

The Sacrificial Pumpkin.  Notice that my knife is color coordinated?  These things count.

20151201_141647

When “it” was over, I laid the remains before the hens…. they were not impressed.  They pecked at the seeds and left the rest.   I was surprised.  I have no idea why they didn’t eat more…….

20151201_141558
It tastes like chicken…
9 thoughts on “THE POUTY POULTRY

  1. dayphoto December 2, 2015 / 9:26 pm

    We are melting today! YAY! Still have corn to do. Harvest has not started here yet, for anyone really!

    Linda

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ann Coleman December 3, 2015 / 3:19 am

    I never knew that chickens liked pumpkins, but this is the second time I have read that people will give them pumpkins! Just shows that you can learn something new everyday…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Donkey Driver December 4, 2015 / 1:25 am

      Mine still haven’t eaten anything but the seeds. They prefer a good summer watermelon or cantalope. “You and me both Girls!”

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ricelandmeadows December 7, 2015 / 1:52 pm

    I enjoy our chickens. They eat lots of garden leftovers. I use them just for a treat…after all, who doesn’t like a treat?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Donkey Driver December 8, 2015 / 2:04 am

      What’s not to love about chickens! They are my best friends. When they see me coming with bread or a scrap dish, they come running! My hubby thinks maybe I give them the bread before its old…..maybe.

      Like

Leave a Reply

