BABY IT’S A GRIND

I am in charge of raising meat for our family.  This is something I enjoy and take great satisfaction from.  It connects me to my past.  I grew up helping my family butcher and process our own meat.

FullSizeRender (12)      IMG_2154

Rollo depends on me for his daily needs and I am happy to care for him to my very best abilities.  Yes, I love and respect Rollo, but I also believe that he was put here as nourishment for my family.

20151113_152049

With that being said, here is our really nice roller mill that we grind grain for our animals with.  Well, sometimes we grind grain with it.  It is a source of frustration for my husband that I don’t always use it.

20151111_144140

More often than not, this is how I grind.  With his grandfathers old grinder.  It’s slower, dustier and doesn’t do as good of a job.  But when I use this, I am reminded of my Dad.  I think how much he enjoyed taking care of his animals and how happy he would be for me if he could see my life.   I have a wonderful husband, children that I look up to and a cute little barn and facilities.

20151111_150448

This is where I keep the corn.  Every single time I take some out. I think of my Dad and how he would have enjoyed something like this.

20151111_150109

And here is my Dads’ old, metal chore bucket.  I feel so connected to him through it.  What connects you to your past?

6 thoughts on “BABY IT’S A GRIND

  1. Ann Coleman November 14, 2015 / 3:06 pm

    I have some things that have been in my family for generations, but mostly what reconnects me to my past are old photos and the memories they bring.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ricelandmeadows November 21, 2015 / 1:12 am

    This is by far my most favorite post. My book has several reflections such as this. God bless your memories!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment