PESTILENCE, TENACITY AND SHIFTING GEARS

Ready for the shed.
Ready for the shed.

Harvest is Officially over when the headers are unhooked from the combines, cleaned and put back in the shed.   But now what?   The hard part of farming for me is shifting gears.  We work like crazy to get things done before harvest – then it starts with a bang and we don’t have time to do anything but harvest.   Then it’s over -right now!  Ok, now let’s get busy and get caught up with all the things we got behind on these last two weeks.

I think he's kinda cool.
I think he’s kinda cool.

My husband thrives on this stuff. The man loves goals of any kind.   He is seriously the most driven person I have ever met.  It used to be a source of friction back when I was a young mother at home on the farm alone with three young kids all day.   I have grown to appreciate more and more just how hard he works.  He is definitely the driving force on our farm and the glue that holds it all together.  “Thank You”

image

As for me, I do have plenty to catch up on.  Weeds that thought they were given The Key To Farm…….and there are the grasshoppers.  I can only do so much for them.  I don’t know what it’s like in other places, but when we have a ‘bad hopper year’ around here, you only hope to save a few prize plants.  They strip plants down to skeletons.

Hey, I know you!
Hey, I know you!

Once I get caught up with the mowing and weeding though, this is a time of year that I get to spend less hurried time with my critters

4 thoughts on “PESTILENCE, TENACITY AND SHIFTING GEARS

  1. Julie@frogpondfarm July 3, 2015 / 8:19 pm

    I would be so upset if bugs did that to my plants. Thankfully hoppers aren’t a problem here .. I’m dealing with slugs at the mo ..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

