FERGIE

Old and new.  Fast and slow.
Old and new. Fast and slow.

Once again, I’m noticing the blending of farming eras.  The Ferguson tractor, aka FERGIE, was built in the 1950s.  We use it to work the weeds in our tree rows.  Many of the  farms around here still have a tractor like this around.  I think of my father and feel some nostalgia when I use or see relics from the old days.  On the other hand, I’m happy that my family doesn’t have to spend hours in the heat and dirt to make our living now.

2 thoughts on “FERGIE

  1. Ralph in N.E.Oh June 23, 2015 / 2:53 am

    Boy do I ever understand, but alas, I chose a different path. I farm small using mixed power, tractors and draft horses. My sales and profits are smaller than yours too I bet, but at the end of the day, we each just need to pay the bills for the things that enrich our lives. Mine is full. I drink from the saucer because my cup runneth over!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Donkey Driver June 23, 2015 / 3:04 am

      You do understand! Our profits may be greater, but so are our bills and risks. We have to try to help our kids come back to the farm. You love your life, don’t you? I can tell. It reminds me so much of how I grew up. Make no mistake, though, ours is still a family farm and we love it with a deep passion and we’ve sacrificed and done everything we can for it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

