SERIOUS SATURDAY

Culinary

image

I grow a fair amount of culinary sage in my flower borders, mostly for the hardiness and silver-leafed beauty.  I do use the leaves, but I also love the beautiful blooms.  One way to use the blooms is to make a flavored vinegar with them. I’ve done it quite often.

image

Most people say to use white wine vinegar, but I prefer just regular white vinegar for this one.  I love the clarity and unaltered flavor it provides.  Pick the blossoms in full bloom and shake off the bugs.

image

I just use a good ol mason jar.  Fill the jar with as many blossoms as you have and then fill with vinegar.  Put the lid on (duh) and shake.  Like you could resist!

image

This the first day!  Beautiful.   This vinegar is nice to add to a roast for tenderizing and flavor.

Put in a cool dark place and shake daily for around three weeks.

5 thoughts on “SERIOUS SATURDAY

    • Donkey Driver May 23, 2015 / 3:57 pm

      I do too! They are under appreciated for the food source they provide to birds and insects. Besides, they are just cheerful!

      Liked by 1 person

      • dayphoto May 23, 2015 / 9:05 pm

        They are! Also they are a child’s roses for Momma

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Julie@frogpondfarm June 1, 2015 / 5:36 am

    What a great idea … and I just happen to have loads of Pineapple sage .. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

